header_barkeeper

Junior Barkeeper

Career in the Bar!

Since the 2011/12 academic year, there has been standardised training (in schools) all over Austria to become a junior barkeeper. Since 2012/13 we have also been offering this certificate course at VILLA BLANKA.

“The goal is to promote students’ interest in the barkeeping profession in order to successfully work in that profession in the future. However, students also learn about dealing with alcohol responsibly and know the score when it comes to the dangers of alcohol abuse” – as the preamble to the course states.

The certificate course ends with a three-part certificate exam (a written component, a sensory component and a practical component). You can find more details about the course here.

We have been running cocktail classes in the school for 15 years and have achieved great success in competitions as a result. At the 1997 Cocktail World Championships in Karlsbad, Angelo Ganner, a former VILLA BLANKA student, was even crowned World Champion in the Pre-Dinner Cocktails category. Students have gone on to secure international successes in Turin, Barcelona, Vienna and even as participants at the European and Middle East MONIN Cup Final in Paris. On the national level, in direct comparison with other participating schools, we always rank close to the top.

The occupational profile of barkeepers/barmen, etc. is not clearly defined. Many barkeepers – especially in high-end catering and hospitality – have undergone professional training and have many years of experience. Often though, skilled restaurant specialists with their school or vocational college training will work at a bar. They can continue their training by attending classes or seminars at private bar schools.

Examples of these in Austria include: The number one Austrian barkeeping school, 1060 Vienna, or the BOLS – Austrian Bar Academy, 1090 Vienna, as well as Austria’s champion barkeeper Kenny Klein with his “Mania Bar Artists”, 4690 Schwanenstadt. The highest level of accredited training in Austria is the examination for a Barkeeping Diploma. Classes for the Barkeeping Diploma are also offered at WIFI Tyrol. The WIFI requires a minimum of 1 1/2 years’ of professional experience working in the Service or Bar industry. Admission requirements for the Barkeeping Diploma examination: Participation in the Foundation and Advanced Classes for the Barkeeping Diploma. There are similar courses in Germany to obtain both “Bar-mixer (IHK)” and “Barmeister/in (IHK)” qualifications. Participants are prepared to independently run a bar business or for the position of an employed bar manager, and also receive the necessary commercial knowledge to do so. The Austrian trade union of barkeepers is the Österreichische Barkeeper Union (ÖBU) and the international umbrella organisation is called the International Bartenders Association (IBA).

The recommended standard textbook is: BAR LEX ICON international, published by Trauner.

header_barkeeper

JungbarkeeperIn

Karriere in der Bar!

Ab dem Schuljahr 2011/12 gibt es eine österreichweit einheitliche Ausbildung (an Schulen) zum/zur JungbarkeeperIn. Diesen Zertifikatslehrgang bieten wir seit dem Schuljahr 2012/13 auch an der Villa Blanka an.

„Ziel ist es, das Interesse der SchülerInnen für das Berufsfeld des Barkeepers / der Barkeeperin zu fördern, um später in diesem Bereich erfolgreich zu arbeiten. Die SchülerInnen sollen jedoch auch den verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit Alkohol erlernen und über die Gefahren des Alkoholmissbrauchs Bescheid wissen“ – So die Präambel des Lehrganges.

Der Zertifikatslehrgang schließt mit einer dreiteiligen Zertifikatsprüfung ab (schriftlicher Teil, sensorischer Teil und praktischer Teil). Nähere Informationen zum Lehrgang gibt es hier.

Seit 15 Jahren führen wir schulinterne Cocktailkurse durch und verzeichnen dadurch große Erfolge bei Wettbewerben. Angelo Ganner, ein ehemaliger Schüler der Villa Blanka, wurde bei der Cocktail-Weltmeisterschaft in Karlsbad 1997 sogar Weltmeister in der Kategorie: Pre Dinner Cocktails. Weitere internationale Erfolge konnten Schüler in Turin, Barcelona, Wien und sogar bei der Teilnahme am „European and Middle-East MONIN-Cup-Finale“ in Paris verbuchen. Auf nationaler Ebene, im direkten Vergleich mit anderen teilnehmenden Schulen, liegen wir immer auf den vorderen Rängen.

Das Berufsbild des Barman / Barkeepers ist nicht klar umrissen. Viele Barkeeper – vor allem in der gehobenen Gastronomie und Hotellerie – verfügen über eine professionelle Ausbildung und langjährige Berufspraxis. Häufig jedoch arbeiten gelernte Restaurantfachkräfte nach ihrer Schul- oder Berufsausbildung an einer Bar. Als eine Weiterbildungsmaßnahme kann man Kurse oder Seminare an privaten Barschulen besuchen.

In Österreich sind das zum Beispiel: Die 1. Österreichische Barkeeperschule, 1060 Wien, oder die BOLS – Austrian Bar Academy, 1090 Wien, und auch Staatsmeister Kenny Klein mit seinen „mania bar artists“, 4690 Schwanenstadt. Die höchste anerkannte Ausbildung in Österreich ist die Prüfung zum Diplom-Barkeeper. Auch am WIFI Tirol werden Kurse zum Diplom-Barkeeper angeboten. Das WIFI setzt 1 1/2 Jahre Berufserfahrung im Service- oder Barbereich als einschlägige Berufspraxis voraus. Die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen zur Diplom-Barkeeper-Prüfung: Teilnahme an der Ausbildung zum Diplom-Barkeeper Basis- und Aufbaukurs. In Deutschland gibt es ähnliche Lehrgänge mit dem Abschluss „Barmixer/in (IHK)“ und „Barmeister/in (IHK)“. Hierbei werden die Teilnehmer/innen auf die selbstständige Führung eines Barbetriebes bzw. die Position eines angestellten Chef de Bar vorbereitet und erhalten dazu auch das benötigte kaufmännische Wissen. Der Berufsverband der Barkeeper Österreichs ist die Österreichische Barkeeper Union (ÖBU), der internationale Dachverband heißt International Bartenders Association (IBA).

Als Standard-Buch empfohlen: BARLEXIKON international, Trauner Verlag.